Top 4 longest reigning SmackDown Tag Team Champions

WWE introduced the pair of the SmackDown Tag Team Championships after the brand split in 2016. During the 2016 Draft, RAW signed the reigning WWE tag team champion, The New Day. Hence, SmackDown Live did not have a tag team title for the tag teams on their show. Later, the former SmackDown Live commissioner Shane McMahon introduced the new championships.

McMahon and the then SmackDown Live General Manager Daniel Bryan revealed the name as SmackDown Tag Team Championships. Since then, the tag titles have been a regular fixture on the Blue brand. To date, 16 tag teams have captured the title belts. In this listicle today, we will look at the top four longest-reigning SmackDown Tag Team Champions of all time.


#4 The Dirty Dawgs – 127 days

The Dirty Dawgs are one of the top tag teams in the WWE right now. Former WWE Champion Dolph Ziggler and former NXT Champion Robert Roode are members of this tag team. It seemed like a random team initially. However, they captured the RAW Tag Team Championships at Clash of Champions 2019.

Later, they moved over to SmackDown and dominated the brand’s tag team division. Roode and Ziggler won the SmackDown Tag Team Championships from the Street Profits on January 8, 2021. It was during a SmackDown episode that happened inside the WWE Thunderdome. The Dirty Dawgs remained champions for 127 days before losing it to the father-son pair of Rey Mysterio and Dominik on May 16, 2021.


#3 The Bludgeon Brothers – 135 Days

The Bludgeon Brothers are no longer in the WWE. They were a tag team featuring former Wyatt Family members Erick Rowan and Luke Harper. Rowan and Harper re-debuted as the Bludgeon Brothers on the Blue brand and took the division by a storm. They beat the Usos and the New Day in a Triple Threat match at WrestleMania 34 to win the SmackDown Tag Team Championships.

They dominated the blue brand’s division while holding the championships. However, things got tough for the Bludgeon Brothers when they entered a rivalry with The New Day. Their reign ended on August 21, 2018, in a match against the New Day in Brooklyn.


#2 Seven-time SmackDown Tag Team Champions: The New Day – 373 Days

The New Day are one of the two tag teams to have held the WWE SmackDown Tag Team Championships for more than 365 days. The trio of Big E, Kofi Kingston and Xavier Woods won these titles six times, while Kingston and Woods became champions once without the support of Big E.

In their seven title reigns, the longest has been their fifth one, which began on November 8, 2019 in Manchester. It ended at the hands of The Miz and John Morrison at WWE Super ShowDown 2020 in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. Their shortest reign was their seventh reign that lasted only two days.


#1 Reigning SmackDown Tag Team Champions: The Usos – 396 Days

As of August 4, 2021, current SmackDown Tag Team Champions, The Usos have held the titles for 396 days. Their ongoing reign is their fifth one. Recently, they captured the SmackDown Tag Team Championships by defeating the Mysterios on the kick-off show of the 2021 Money in the Bank pay-per-view event.

The Usos hold the record for the longest reign in the championships’ history. Their third reign as the champions started on October 8, 2017, at the Hell in a Cell pay-per-view and concluded after 182 days at the hands of the Bludgeon Brothers at WrestleMania 34.


Related Articles

Back to top button